Everywhere is walking distance if you have the time. (Steven Wright)

Yesterday I completed the 50 mile trail hiking challenge sponsored by the committee for the Sea Ranch’s 50th anniversary. The goal of the 50-50 hike was to hike every trail and connector path on the Sea Ranch. In fact this requires significant double-backing resulting in quite a few more than fifty miles to complete.

P1010238
Remember that giant spiderweb that snared Tarzan on one of his adventures? I met its baby sister on yesterday’s hike.

I do most of my hiking in the morning before 9am.  Since I have a daily goal of 6 miles it did not  take very long to complete the entire 50 mile course.  I had hiked most of these trails before, but this forced me to account for each and every step.

P1010187
The morning light on the trail is always quite magical

Unfortunately some discoveries along the picturesque trails  are not so lovely.  This poor baby fox appeared to have been a coyote’s victim.

P1010242
Shame on that old Wiley Coyote!

I also  just completed a wildlife bingo card and earned the celebrity status of being the “first adult” to do so.  Along with a  photo in the Sea Ranch archives and a pencil as a prize this probably earned me an unflattering label from the staff who seemed somewhat surprised that an adult would take part in the game.

P1010163
Jerry and Pongo on the Ridge Trail. Pongo logged about 4.5 miles that day.

Jerry and I are  preparing for a short side excursion  to the Bay Area this weekend to visit old friends and our old neighborhood haunts.

P1010077
This little jabber box is, I believe, a white-crowned sparrow.

Our high-minded volunteer aspirations for this summer have not yet come to fruition, but perhaps in due time.  I haven’t spotted just the right event at the Mendocino Botanical Garden and I think the meals-on-wheels commitment will need a bit more enthusiasm from Jerry before we approach the staff.

P1010158
“I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me.” ― Noël Coward
2 thoughts on “Everywhere is walking distance if you have the time. (Steven Wright)

  1. Tom Hanson says:

    Yes, I believe that would likely be the Puget Sound White Crowned Sparrow (Zonotrichia pugentensis) – SW BC to NW CA.   Nutall’s (Z. nutalli) is similar but W. central CA.   The White Crowned is known for its ability to stay awake for up to 2 weeks during migration.

    Several families of Baltimore orioles have been visiting our feeders and have gone through 4lbs. of grape jelly this last week.   They will start heading south in mid August and will be stocking up before the trip.

    Hope all is well. T

  2. bcwheat08 says:

    “…if you have the time…” (and the determination). Congratulations, that was a worthy goal (he said, breaking the cobwebs between his forehead and the computer monitor). The shot of the narrow trail through the trees is indeed magic, and the foggy meadow is wonderful too.

    Be well, both of you–

    Bill

Comments are closed.