Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch

Once again we have fled the desert heat for the cool of the northern California coast.  As usual, I came laden with a huge list of lofty goals I somehow think I will accomplish merely because I have changed my  geographic location.  What amazes me most I suppose, is that I continue in this naive belief that making huge lists of goals will somehow lead to their being achieved, even though years of experience have proven me wrong beyond measure.

20160511_105312
The lawnmowers are hard at work

I list by example:  Listening to the collection of Great Courses I have somehow amassed; watching the hundreds of subtitled foreign films I bought from some strange man in Australia years ago; attending yoga, aerobics, stretch and strength training classes regularly; hiking 6-8 miles daily;  taking stimulating road trips; planning and preparing  innovative and healthy meals…  Need I go on?  This doesn’t even cover the necessary day-to-day chores that take up much of my time, like trying to tidy the entire redwood forest surrounding us.

20160513_154523
Blooming in the Community Garden

The goal I really need to work harder on this summer is the “cut yourself some slack goal”.  My efforts to inject my life with order and meaning are, in the end, vastly underappreciated by myself and others.  I may start working harder on doing less.

JWW_2119
Above Black Point Beach

When we got to the Sea Ranch the reality of vacation home ownership raised its ugly head as we discovered  two huge windows and the furnace had given up the ghost.  Once again my fortitude as a homeowner is challenged.  I told my local realtor friend, Christine, that if she can bring us a buyer at the right price without our having to go on the market we would sell at the drop of a hat and gladly become renters rather than owners for our remaining years.  Of course, I always feel this way the first few days after arrival and could probably benefit from some coaching by the full timers in  what appears to be their  more zen approach toward  home maintenance and repair.

JWW_2058
Early Sunday Morning

Our first week here we attended the grand reopening of the Stewart’s Point Store (Two Fish South).  This store is one of those with creaking wood floors and old counters and  has gone through many resurrections.  Its reopening was highly anticipated and well attended by locals and weekend tourists alike.  It is an ambitious project for the two women who have another small bakery on the Sea Ranch.  In this very remote location it will take lots of luck and good management to make both a success.

20160515_122910

20160515_122622
Two Fish Offerings

 

.

20160515_123222
A Sunny Afternoon on the deck of the old store
20160515_122419
Like Kids in a Candy Shop?

 

This past Saturday we had  a variety of local events and activities with which to distract ourselves.  We could walk the Sea Ranch Golf Links for charity, attend the Third Annual Wool festival in Point Arena, attend the Sustainable Sea Food Festival at the local market, or go to the on-screen British stage production of Dangerous Liaisons.  The weather was drizzly so we decided to opt for the scent of wet wool at the Wool Festival near Pt. Arena.

 

IMG_7214
Spinning as a Zen Practice
IMG_7210
Let them try to spin our feathers

 

This turned out to be an entertaining choice, featuring a pleasant rural farm setting with sheep and plenty of local craftspeople plying their goods, wearable and edible.  There were demonstrations and live music to entertain almost everyone, although it turns out sheep can’t be shorn when wet.

 

IMG_7224
Some of us remain unimpressed
IMG_7251
Is it summer yet?

 

 

IMG_7217
A sheep of many colors
IMG_7231
Candied jalapeno anyone?

 

 

IMG_7233
“Guess who my formerly famous actress wife is,” she is being asked…
IMG_7252
Barn still-life

 

We are already over two weeks into our stay here and still have not planned any road trips which are also on our wish list.  Once we get some of the domestic chores accomplished we will plan some fun.

20160521_120638
Country boy
20160521_115443
A well loved friend

 

3 thoughts on “Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch

  1. karlinsorenson says:

    Even if you trimmed your list down to just tidying the redwood Forrest around you, you don’t stand a chance against your lists!
    Perhaps as you suggest it’s rethinking the lists to ‘enjoying the natural disarray of the forrest’ you’d stand a better chance?
    Zen lessons anyone?
    🙂

  2. billw says:

    Good to see a new post. Always enjoy the pics and text equally, especially the “country store” in this one. Hate to hear of the damage to the house, I’m thankful every day for my neighbor in Comanche who keeps an eye on my house there. As one living in the edge of a deciduous forest, that “tidying up the…forest” thing is something I had to let go of about 15 years back in favor of both time and disequilibrium.

Comments are closed.